WordPress is a web service that gives the opportunities to the users to make their website. WordPress allows both free and paid websites and people also have the option to customize their websites by using various tools available on WordPress. There are situations where people have to reset their website. They can do so with the help of several tools. People are not aware about the method of using these tools. There is a plugin called WP reset which they can install in order to reset their website. Let us know about this plugin in detail.
What is WP Reset?
It is a plugin which helps in resetting the database of a website. The databasereturns to its default values after the completion of resetting. Only customizations done by the users are deleted but no modifications or deletions are done to the files. People can either reset the whole database or only a few parts like setting of the theme. The plugin also comes with the feature of restore which helps to bring the database back to the previous condition. The plugin consists of safe fail mechanisms so people should not fear about the accidental resetting. Another feature of this plugin is that it provides speed to debugging and testing.
What happens when a user clicks the reset button?
Here are the things which will happen after a user clicks the reset button.
Deletions that will occur
- Posts, custom posts types, pages, comments etc. will be deleted.
- If there are any default database tables available, they will be deleted.
- All the database tableswhose prefix is same as the default tables will be deleted.
Things that will not be deleted or modified
- Media files can be found in a folder called wpuploads and are not deleted. These files will not be seen in the list of Media.
- Files related to themes, uploads, and plugins remain untouched.
- Visibility settings of the site and its navigating address are not deleted.
- The data of the users who are currently using the website will not be deleted
What should be done before clicking the reset button?
Here are the things which people need to do before clicking the reset button.
- The website owner should take the backup of the database. In case, reset fails or it is found that resetting is wrong decision, the database can be restored to its previous condition. Backup is necessary because undo is not available.
- User who clicked the reset button will be automatically logged out.
- The plugin will be activated automatically if the user selects the given option.
How to undo a reset?
The website owner should take a snapshot by clicking the snapshot button available next to reset button. The snapshot is created within seconds. After the completion of reset, the owner can use the snapshot to undo the action.
These are some of the things that people need to know about resetting a website database through WP Reset. Website owner need to take a snapshot so that if he wants to restore the database, he can do so with the help of snapshot.